Fiction Awards and Books That Have Won Them

Fiction books are books that are based on events that are not real. Every year, certain fiction books are awarded different awards. Here are a few of the most famous awards given to fiction books, and some of the famous books that have received these awards.

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

The Pulitzer Prize is one of the most prestigious awards an author can receive. This award is named for journalist Joseph Pulitzer and has been given out yearly since 1917. In 1947, the novel category was divided into different categories, such as fiction and non-fiction.

Some of the famous fiction books that have received a Pulitzer Prize:

  • The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck
  • Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction

The National Book Critics Circle Award, or NBCC Award, is presented annually to books in one of six categories. Those categories include autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, non-fiction and poetry. This award has been awarded since 1975.

Some of the famous fiction books that have won a National Book Critics Circle Award in the fiction category:

  • Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow
  • A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley
  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

The John Newbery Medal

The John Newbery Medal is given to children’s books each year. While there is no rule that the book has to be fiction, the majority of published children’s book are fiction. This is one of the most prestigious awards given to those who write children’s literature. This award has been presented annually since 1922.

Some famous children’s books that have won the John Newbery Medal:

  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  • Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor
  • Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry