A List of Non-Fiction Awards

A non-fiction book is one that is based on true information and facts. Every year, there are thousands of these books written. The best books receive awards from different groups to award them for exceptional writing and story telling. Here are a few of the awards a non-fiction book can receive and some famous non-fiction works that received these awards.

Pulitzer Prize for Non-Fiction

The Pulitzer Prize is one of the most prestigious awards that any writer or journalist can receive. There are many different Pulitzer Prizes award each year in different categories. Some of the categories include investigative reporting, feature photography, editorial cartooning, poetry and non-fiction books.

Some of the non-fiction books that have won a Pulitzer Prize:

  • The Making of the President by Theodore H. White
  • The Rising Sun by John Toland
  • Lincoln at Gettysburg: The Words That Remade America by Garry Wills
  • The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 by Lawrence Wright

National Book Award for Non-Fiction

The National Book Award is an award that is awarded to one book in a series of categories annually by the National Book Foundation. These have been awarded to recognize American authors and their works since 1935.

Some of the most famous non-fiction books that have won a National Book Award in the non-fiction category:

  • An American in Italy by Herbert Kubly
  • The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L. Shirer
  • The Making of the Atomic Bomb by Richard Rhodes
  • Just Kids by Patti Smith

Edgar Award: Best Fact Crime

One of the more unique awards that is given to non-fiction work is the Edgar Award for the Best Fact Crime. This award is given to the best non-fictional crime book. Since 1948, one book receives this honor each year.

Some of the books that have received the Edgar Award in the best fact crime category:

  • Bad Company by Joseph Henry Jackson
  • Gideon’s Trumpet by Anthony Lewis
  • The Boston Strangler by Gerold Frank
  • Circumstantial Evidence by Pete Earley